In any financial event, an amount is deducted (credit) from one place and added (debit) to another. In Bkper we refer to these places as Accounts, and the transferrals between accounts are Transactions.

Chart of accounts 

The chart of accounts on Bkper is a consistent but flexible structure that allows you to represent your activities and track the resources that are relevant to you. Start off simple with a few, generic accounts and little granularity and as you learn you can add more detail or restructure your chart of accounts to support changing needs for reporting and analysis.  

Create Accounts on empty book

  1. Go to the Chart of Accounts
  2. Press new Account
  3. Give a name to your Account
  4. Choose an Account Type
  • Asset: real account like bank account, cash and savings or receivables, like customers
  • Liability: debts like your credit card, a supplier or person you owe, a loan, etc
  • Incoming: revenues like the salary you receive, a product or service you sell, etc
  • Outgoing: expenses like rent, transportation, salaries of your employees, etc

5. Save the new account

Create Accounts on existing book with Groups

On an book that already has groups you can create/add accounts directly from the left menu on your book.

  1. Press the sandwich button on the group
  2. Choose Add new account
  3. Name the new account
  4. Press Save


Edit Accounts

  1. Hover over an account and press the vertical dots button
  2. Select Edit
  3. Make your edits
  4. Save the changes

Note: You can edit an account at any time and changes will not affect the balance value.

Delete Accounts

In case an Account was never used in any transaction on Bkper you can delete it, otherwise you can only archive used accounts.

  1. Hover over an account and press the vertical dots button
  2. Select Delete
  3. Click Yes to confirm the permanent removal of the account

Note: Deleted accounts can be recreated by creating an account with the same name.

Archive Accounts

Once an Account has been used in any transaction, it can only be archived (not deleted). A requirement to keep consistency in the historic balance evolution of the double entry system.

  1. Hover over an account and press the vertical dots button
  2. Select Archive

Note: Archived accounts cannot be used in searches anymore.

Unarchive Accounts

Since archived accounts make part of the historic evolution of a balance value you can still use them by unarchiving them.

  1. Go to the Chart of Accounts
  2. Select Archived from the left menu
  3. Select the account you want to unarchive
  4. Press the button Unarchive.

Add account to group

  1. Hover over an account and grab the account by the left marker
  2. Drag the account into a Group

Remove account from group

  1. Hover over an account and press the vertical dots button
  2. Select Remove from Group

Did this answer your question?