A book is a place where you record all the informations you need to organize your finances, like your assets, incoming, liability, expenses. You can create books for personal projects, like your personal finances, or for work like, your business finances.

Create a book 

Create as many books as you need to represent the resources that you want to track and enjoy the flexibility to easily re-structure as your activities change.

On the web console press the New Book button to create a empty book.

To choose a Template book that corresponds to your necessities, click on Template Gallery. All templates, except the Empty Book, come with sample accounts for that particular purpose (of course you can change all those account and groups as you wish).

The newly created book is immediately ready for use. Proceed to rename the book by clicking on the name, manage the settings and the accounts to fit your situation.

Copy a book 

Copy everything: Settings, Accounts and Groups except Transactions and start with all Account balances on zero in the copied book.

  • Open the Configuration menu (Gear button) and Select "Make a copy..." 
  • Give the Copied book a name.

In the Copied book balance values are zero as Transactions are not copied.

Delete book

When you delete a book all transactions, accounts, and groups will be deleted permanently from book. Deleted books CANNOT be recovered!

Press the Gear button and from the drop down menu select "Delete this book..."

On the Remove dialog mark the check box and press the gray Remove button.

Book seetings

Book settings are set per book. The Chosen Book settings, like date formats or number formats are applied to a book and might differ per book for the user. Also different users with different user languages will work on a shared book using the same Book settings.

Accessing Book settings on the book configuration.

Changing the Book settings:

Local Settings allow to change 

  • The Time Zone 

- The Date Format
- The Fraction Digits (upto 3 digits)
- The Number (money) Format anotation
- And you can choose to activate Autopost

Autopost

If the Bookbot completes an entry with a very high level of certainty on the accounts found, if you have Autopost activated, instead of saving a draft, it will directly posts the amount to the corresponding accounts.

By now the only way it achieve level of the required level of certainty is when you add both account names to the record text. If the Bookbot find the accounts by hashtags or description, it will keep the transaction waiting for post.

Autopost comes activated for all new books.

Did this answer your question?